Die Österreichische Pflegevorsorge

Dokument in Rahmen des ECEPA Projekts. Internet Veröffentlichung URL: www.independentliving.org/docs7/brozek200409a-de.html (In German.)

von Dorothea Brozek, WAG, 2004-09

In English

 

Gesetzliche und finanzielle Grundlage

Das Pflegegeld ist im Bundespflegegeldgesetz aus dem Jahr 1993 geregelt. Es hat folgende Zielsetzung: “Das Pflegegeld hat den Zweck, in Form eines Beitrages pflegebedingte Mehraufwendungen pauschaliert abzugelten, um pflegebedürftigen Personen, soweit wie möglich die notwendige Betreuung und Hilfe zu sichern sowie die Möglichkeit zu verbessern, ein selbstbestimmtes, bedürfnisorientiertes Leben zu führen.“ (§1)

Die finanzielle Verantwortung liegt je nach Anspruchslage entweder beim Bund oder bei den Ländern. Bei gegebenen Voraussetzungen besteht ein Rechtsanspruch auf Pflegegeld. Finanziert wird es einerseits durch Beiträge von ArbeitgeberInnen und ArbeitnehmerInnen zur Sozialversicherung, andererseits durch Steuern.

Im Dezember 2002 haben 356.797 Personen Pflegegeld bezogen, 85% davon Bundespflegegeld und 15% Landespflegegeld.

Anspruchsberechtigung und Bedürfnisse

Für den Bezug des Pflegegelds müssen folgende Voraussetzungen erfüllt sein:

  • ein ständiger Betreuungs- und Hilfsbedarf (Pflegebedarf) aufgrund einer körperlichen, geistigen oder psychischen Behinderung bzw. einer Sinnesbehinderung, die voraussichtlich mindestens sechs Monate andauern wird
  • der ständige Pflegebedarf muss monatlich durchschnittlich zumindest mehr als 50 Stunden betragen
    Die folgende Tabelle zeigt die Gliederung des Pflegegelds je nach Ausmaß des Pflegebedarfs in sieben Stufen. Die Tabelle zeigt außerdem die Höhe des ausbezahlten Betrags sowie die Zahl der BezieherInnen pro Stufe im Dezember 2002.
Stufe Pflegebedarf in Stunden pro Monat Betrag

BezieherInnen Stand Dez. 02

1 mehr als 50 € 145,50 69.136
2 mehr als 75 € 268,00 126.449
3 mehr als 120 € 413,50 62.634
4 mehr als 180 € 620,30 52.584
5 mehr als 180 und außergewöhnlicher Pflegebedarf € 842,40 29.510
6 mehr als 180 wenn dauernde Beaufsichtigung bzw. gleichzuachtender Pflegeaufwand notwendig ist € 1.148,70 10.093
7 v 180 wenn praktische Bewegungsunfähigkeit oder gleichzuachtender Zustand gegeben

€ 1.531,50

6.391

(Quelle: BMSG o.J.)

Pflegegeld wird nur auf Antrag gewährt. Dieser ist an jene Stelle zu richten, von der bereits eine Rente bezogen wird. Ist dies nicht der Fall, z. B. bei behinderten Kindern, berufstätigen behinderten Frauen und Männern oder SozialhilfebezieherInnen, sind die Länder zuständig.

Der Beurteilung des Pflegegeldanspruchs liegt eine medizinische Orientierung zugrunde. Anhand eines vorgegebenen Rasters beurteilt ein amtlich befugter Arzt bzw. eine Ärztin den Pflegebedarf der AntragstellerInnen. Einzelne Bedürfnissen werden in Zeitaufwand übersetzt, z.B. werden für Aus- und Anziehen pro Tag 2x20 Minuten veranschlagt. Neben der Hilfe am Körper, zu der persönliche Hygiene, Nahrungsaufnahme, Anziehen etc. zählen, gibt es die Kategorie Betreuung, zu der z.B. Einkaufen und Hilfe im Haushalt zählen. Für Hilfe bei der Mobilität werden pauschal zehn Stunden pro Monat veranschlagt. Dem monatlichen Stundenausmaß entsprechend erfolgt die Einstufung im Schema. AntragstellerInnen haben wenig Einfluss auf die Beurteilung durch die ÄrztInnen, sie können ihrem Antrag Gutachten beilegen, für die gilt: je medizinischer desto besser. Gegen den Bescheid, in dem die Einstufung mitgeteilt wird, kann bei Gericht berufen werden. Berufungsverfahren sind für die KlägerInnen im Allgemeinen aufwändig, zeitintensiv und teuer. Da der Schwerpunkt auf körperlicher Pflege liegt, ist es für Personen, deren Unterstützungsbedarf nicht in diesem Bereich liegt wie z.B. Männer und Frauen mit Lernbehinderung, mit psychischen Problemen oder gehörlose Personen, in der Praxis schwierig, zu einer bedarfsgerechten Einstufung zu kommen.

Umfang und Rechenschaftspflicht

Es ist nicht beabsichtigt, dass das Pflegegeld den gesamten Unterstützungsbedarf einzelner Personen abdeckt bzw. dieser mit dem Pflegegeld finanziert werden kann. Ergänzend zur Einführung des Pflegegelds haben sich die Länder verpflichtet, die Sozialen Dienste flächendeckend aus zu bauen und qualitativ zu verbessern.

PflegegeldbezieherInnen müssen keinen Nachweis über die konkrete Verwendung erbringen und daher auch niemandem gegenüber Rechenschaft ablegen. Das Pflegegeld wird 12x im Jahr unabhängig vom Einkommen und von der Ursache der Behinderung direkt an die behinderte Person ausgezahlt.

Beurteilung

Die Beurteilung des österreichischen Pflegegelds muss differenziert erfolgen, es hat eindeutig Vor- und Nachteile. Von Vorteil ist, dass behinderte Personen unabhängig vom Einkommen und von der Ursache ihrer Behinderung direkt Geld erhalten, über das sie ohne Rechenschaftspflicht frei verfügen können.

Die größten Probleme liegen in der medizinischen Ausrichtung bei der Umsetzung des Pflegegelds, wir haben dafür den Begriff „Nachtkastl und Bett“-Mentalität geprägt. Damit ist gemeint, dass das Leben behinderter Menschen auf Nachtkastl und Bett reduziert wird.

Auch die pauschalierte Abgeltung individueller Bedürfnisse ist problematisch. Unserer Erfahrung nach lässt sich Folgendes beobachten: Personen, die Pflegegeld bis Stufe 4 beziehen, können ihren Unterstützungsbedarf, so wie er in der Pflegegeldverordnung definiert ist, in den meisten Fällen gut mit dem Pflegegeld finanzieren. Darüber hinaus gehender Assistenzbedarf, der zu mehr Lebensqualität und gesellschaftlicher Teilhabe führen würde, ist nicht abgedeckt. Für jene Männer und Frauen, die Pflegegeld ab der Stufe 5 beziehen, wird es noch problematischer. Sie benötigen typischerweise mehrmals täglich Assistenz direkt am Körper, und für sie ist es mit dem Pflegegeld nicht einmal möglich, diese Grundbedürfnisse ausreichend abzudecken. Die Studie zur Analyse der Auswirkungen des Pflegevorsorgesystems vergleicht die durchschnittlich aufgewendete Betreuungszeit pro Monat mit den Stundenvorgaben der gesetzlichen Anspruchsvoraussetzungen und bekräftigt unsere Einschätzung: „Die Ergebnisse bestätigen, dass eine Reihe von Pflegegeldbeziehern, insbesondere jene in den höheren Pflegegeldstufen, tatsächlich täglich intensive Betreuung benötigen. Es kommt zu einem deutlichen Auseinanderklaffen zwischen der tatsächlichen geleisteten Hilfe, ..., und jener Hilfe, die im Sinne des Gesetzgebers als objektiv notwendig angesehen wird,“ (Badelt et al. 1997, S. 68). Betroffene sind daher entweder gezwungen, einen Großteil ihrer Assistenz von Angehörigen, denen sie eine Entschädigung zahlen, erledigen zu lassen, oder sie müssen ihren Assistenzbedarf im Rahmen von illegalen Arbeitsverhältnissen abwickeln. Letzteres kann sowohl für AssistenznehmerInnen als auch für AssistentInnen zu existentiellen Bedrohungen führen. Ist keine der genannten Strategien realisierbar, bleibt behinderten Menschen mit hohem Unterstützungsbedarf in der Regel nur mehr die Übersiedlung in ein Heim mit all den damit verbundenen negativen Konsequenzen.
Die Tatsache, dass die Länder ihrer Verpflichtung nach qualitativem und quantitativem Ausbau der sozialen Dienste für behinderte Menschen nicht nachgekommen sind, macht es behinderten Menschen in manchen Regionen Österreichs von vornherein unmöglich, Assistenz im erforderlichen Ausmaß einzukaufen. In großen Teilen Österreichs gibt es keine Organisationen, die Persönliche Assistenz oder zumindest mobile Betreuung anbieten. Anstelle des Ausbaus solcher Dienste haben bestehende Anbieter nach der Einführung des Pflegegelds ihre Stundensätze enorm erhöht. Der Vollständigkeit halber sei hier erwähnt, dass das Pflegegeld seit 1996 nicht valorisiert wurde, die Anbieter ihre Stundensätze aber regelmäßig erhöhen.

Die Erfahrung zeigt also deutlich, dass das Pflegegeld trotz grundsätzlich positiver Merkmale weder den vielfältigen Bedürfnissen von Menschen mit unterschiedlichen Beeinträchtigungen noch der Zielsetzung nach einer selbstbestimmten und gleichberechtigten Lebensführung behinderter Menschen gerecht wird. Verbesserungen könnten erreicht werden, wenn das Pflegegeld die im Rahmen regulärer Arbeitsverhältnissen für Pflege bzw. Assistenz tatsächlich anfallenden Kosten abdecken würde. Allerdings stellt sich die Frage, ob das Pflegegeld überhaupt eine zufriedenstellende Grundlage für Persönliche Assistenz sein kann. Wir vertreten die Auffassung, dass es für Persönliche Assistenz ein eigenes Gesetz geben sollte. Darin müssten einerseits Konzepte und Begriffe klar definiert sein, andererseits müsste ein solches Gesetz die Finanzierung von regulären Arbeitsverhältnisse für AssistentInnen ebenso wie die Schulung und Unterstützung von AssistenznehmerInnen sicher stellen.

Quellen

BMSG. Pflegestatistik. im Internet:
http://www.bmsg.gv.at/cms/site/attachments/0/2/9/CH0356/CMS1078923314329/pflege.xls
(Stand 16. Aug. 2004), o.J.

Badelt, Christoph; Holzmann-Jenkins, Andrea; Matul, Andreas; Österle, August. Analyse der
Auswirkungen des Pflegevorsorgesystems. Wien: BMAGS, 1997.
http://www.bizeps.or.at/info/pa.html#recht

Identität

Mag. Dorothea Brozek, Geschäftsführerin der Wiener Assistenzgenossenschaft
Assistenznehmerin
Tel: ++43 (0)1 798 53 55
E-mail: d.brozek@wag.or.at

English

The Austrian Long-term Care Insurance

Document for the ECEPA Project. Internet publication URL: www.independentliving.org/docs7/brozek200409a.html

 

In German

 

Legal and financial basis

The legal basis for the Austrian long-term care benefit is the Federal Act for long-term care benefit that was introduced in 1993. The expressed purpose of this legislation is as follows: “The long-term care benefit aims at compensating additional expenditure due to long-term care in the form of a flat-rate cash benefit to ensure as far as possible necessary attendance and support for persons with need for care and to improve their possibility to live an independent life according to their needs.” (§1)

Depending on the kind of entitlement the financial responsibility lies either with the Federal Government or the Länder (nine Austrian Provinces). If a person is entitled for long-term care benefit, there´s a legal right to receive it. Long-term care benefit is financed from contributions of employers and employees as well as from tax revenues.

In December 2002, 356,797 people received long-term care benefit, 85% of them received Federal long-term care benefit, 15% received long-term care benefit from the Länder.

Eligibility and needs

To receive long-term care benefit a person has to qualify as follows:

  • a person must be in need of care due to a physical, a cognitive or a mental impairment that will last for at least six months
  • the permanent need of care must amount to at least 50 hours per month

Long-term care benefit is organised in seven levels according to the need of care. The fol-lowing table shows this structure as well as the monthly amount paid and the number of people receiving long-term care benefit in December 2002.

 

Level Monthly care requirements in hours Amount paid
per month

People receiving
in Dec. 2002

1 more than 50 € 145.50 69,136
2 more than 75 € 268.00 126,449
3 more than 120 € 413.50 62,634
4 more than 180 € 620.30 52,584
5 more than 180 and unusually high level of care needed € 842.40 29,510
6 more than 180 and constant attendance needed € 1,148.70 10,093
7 more than 180 and virtual immobility

€ 1,531.50

6,391

 

Long-term care benefit must be applied for at the relevant Federal or Länder authority. If a person receives a pension from the Federal social security system, the relevant assurance is re-sponsible. If this is not the case, e.g. for children with disabilities, for employees with disabilities or those receiving social care benefit, it´s the relevant authority of the Länder that´s responsible.

The assessment of eligibility for long-term care benefit is based on a medical model. Offi-cially authorized doctors assess the applicant´s need of care with a given screen. Different needs are translated into time needed, e.g. for getting dressed and undressed 2x20 minutes per day are being calculated. Apart from support on the body, like personal hygiene, eating and dressing, there´s a catgory for attendance, like e.g. shopping and support for housekeeping. For mobility, a flat-rate of 10 hours per month is estimated. The classification to a certain level follows the amount of hours per month. Applicants do not have much influence on the assessment by doctors, but they can add reports to their application: the more medical the better. The decision on the level of long-term care can be appealed for at court. Appeal proceedings are usually time as well as energy consuming and costly. As the emphasis is on care, for those whose need of support is not in this areas, like e.g. men and women with learning disabilities, with psychiatric disorders or deaf people, it´s usually difficult to be classified according to their needs.

Coverage and accountability

The long-term care benefit does not aim at covering all needs of support for a person resp. at financing it. Additionally to the introduction of long-term care benefit, the Länder committed themselves to extend their social services comprehensively and to improve them qualitatively.

Recipients need not proof of how they use their long-term care benefit and therefor need not account for it.

Evaluation

The evaluation of the Austrian long-term care benefit needs to be differentiated, there are obviously advantages as well as disadvantages to it. It´s an advantage that people with disabilities receive cash benefits directly, regardless of their income or the reason of their disability, and that they have it at their own disposal without obligation to account for it.

The main problem is that how the long-term care benefit is put into action is based on a medical model, we characterize this as “bedside-table and bed”-mentality. This means that the life of disabled people is reduced to the space between bedside-table and bed.

The flat-rate benefit to meet personal needs is problematic, too. Based on our experience the following can be said: People who receive long-term care benefit up to level 4 can usually fi-nance their needs of personal support as they are defined in the regulation for long-term care pro-vision. Further needs for Personal Assistance, that would lead to a better quality of life and to more participation in society, are not covered. For those men and women who receice long-term care benefit from level 5 onward it´s even more problematic. They typically need assistance directly on the body several times a day and for them it´s not even possible to cover these basic needs with the money they receive. A report, that analysed the effects of the provision for long-term care, compared the time devoted to care per month with the monthly care requirements of the guide-lines for eligibility and it supports the way we see the situation: “The results confirm that a number of people who receive long-term care benefit in fact need intensive attendance every day. There´s an obvious gap between the actually given support ,…, and the kind of support, that according to the legislative body is objectively necessary,” (Badelt, et al., 1997, p. 68). People concerned are therefor either forced to have their assistance done by relatives whom they pay a compensation, or they have to organise their assistance illegaly by paying black wages. The latter can end up in a threat to the existence of the user as well as of the personal assistant. If neither of these strate-gies can be put into action, for people who need much support there´s just left the opportunity of moving to a residential care home with all its negative consequences.

The fact that the Länder have not fulfilled their duty to extend and improve the social ser-vices makes it impossible right from the start that people with disabilities buy the assistance they need. In large regions of Austria there are no organisations that offer personal assistance or even mobile attendance. Instead of building up such services the service providers raised their hourly rates enormously when the long-term care benefit was introduced. To complete the picture we want to add that the long-term care benefit has not been adjusted to inflation since 1996, but the service providers always raise their rates.

Experience obviously shows that the long-term care benefit, in spite of its basically positive characteristics, neither does justice to the diverse needs of people with different impairments nor to the objective of an independent and equalised way of living for disabled people. Improvements could be achieved if the long-term care benefit covered all costs that actually arise within regular employer-employee relationships for care resp. Personal Assistance. We question, though, if the long-term care benefit can be a satisfying basis for Personal Assistance. In our opinion there should be a separate law for Personal Assistance. This should on the one hand clearly define con-cepts and terms, on the other hand it should guarantee the funding of legal jobs for personal assi-tants as well as training and support for users.

Resources

BMSG. Pflegestatistik. im Internet:
http://www.bmsg.gv.at/cms/site/attachments/0/2/9/CH0356/CMS1078923314329/pflege.xls
(Stand 16. Aug. 2004), o.J.

Badelt, Christoph; Holzmann-Jenkins, Andrea; Matul, Andreas; Österle, August. Analyse der
Auswirkungen des Pflegevorsorgesystems. Wien: BMAGS, 1997.
http://www.bizeps.or.at/info/pa.html#recht

Identity

Mag. Dorothea Brozek, manager of the Vienna Association for Personal Assistance
user of Personal Assistance
Phone: ++43 (0)1 798 53 55
E-mail: d.brozek@wag.or.at

English